19 November, 2018

Young local cast create Munchkinland

A troupe of twenty-four talented youngsters join the cast for the this year’s most magical musical of them all, The Wizard Of Oz, opening Friday 23 November, at Pitlochry Festival Theatre.

Currently rehearsing scenes, songs and choreography, the local youngsters, selected from open auditions of over 60 applicants, take the full cast complement up to 38, plus a live band of ten. The young team (pictured) are made up of three groups of eight to rotate through the month of matinée and evening shows, up until 23 December. Creating the population of Munchkinland, some of the young actors return to Pitlochry, following previous experience in the theatre’s acclaimed Christmas spectaculars: treading the boards as last year’s mini Gene Kellys and Donald O’Connors in the festive musical hit, Singin’ In The Rain, and previously, in the fabulous, Scrooge! and Miracle On 34th Street.

Nikki Kalkman Assistant Director to PFT’s Director, Gemma Fairlie, and Young Company Director told us:

“It has been an absolute pleasure working with this year’s Young Company. They are an amazingly curious, talented and generally hilarious group of young people. I have had the honour to watch them step up to the demands of a professional rehearsal process and work tirelessly on creating an exceptional performance.”

Rehearsals for The Wizard Of Oz are now reaching a climax as they transfer to the stage, with anticipation soaring with opening night fast approaching!

Don’t get left out in the grey of winter this Christmas. Make sure you join the Munchkins and step into glorious technicolour with Dorothy and Toto!

To book your tickets today, call PFT’s Box Office team on 01796 484626 or go to www.PitlochryFestivalTheatre.com to book online.

Pictured: The Wizard Of Oz Junior Cast (alphabetically): Luka Barrie, Elise Brand, Isla Campbell, Alisha Chowdhury, Grace Conisbee, Blair Cunningham, Jessica Devine, Isla Elder, Kaitlan Ferguson, Catalina Gibbons, Jasmine Heap, Kaine Johnston, Kate Laing, Sophie Love, Morvern Mair, Islay McKenzie, Annie McNab, Finlay Meikle, Ella O’Flaherty, Sarah O’Flynn, Phoebe-Rose Pirie, Orna Scott, Laurie Scrimgeour, Evan Smith, Holly Thorne.

See all news articles